Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership

Award Nominations

Nominations for the 2019-2020 Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership are open! 

Nominations are due February 28, 2020 and can be submitted here or via email to:

Before submitting your nomination, please be sure to review the Nomination Package Checklist to ensure your nomination is complete and eligible for consideration, as it includes a list of required documentation for the nominator, nominees and package submitter (if applicable).

Submit Nomination


About the Award

Since 1978, the Roger W. Jones Award has honored and recognized federal career executives for the Senior Executive Service who have demonstrated dedication to superior leadership in achieving their agency’s mission and nurturing future managers.

Award recipients are not only committed to mission success, but also inspire those they lead, consistent with the career of the extraordinary public servant for whom the Award is named.

Roger Jones (February 3, 1908 – May 28, 1993) served seven U.S. presidents over four decades, including tours as Deputy Secretary of State, Deputy Director of the Office of Management and Budget, and Chairman of the Civil Service Commission.

He extolled the importance of public administration and service, stressing the need to provide professional education for public managers.

Award Presentation

Recipients of the Roger W. Jones Award will be honored in a ceremony hosted by American University during the Annual Key Executive Leadership Conference and receive a $2,500 cash award.