MEET SUSANNA

Hi. I’m Susanna.

B A C K G R O U N D
I grew up in a teeny town in rural Vermont called Tunbridge with two brothers, my parents, and three cats. I attended an independent high school which was still in its early years of development at the time, affording me many opportunities to stray from what may be considered the norm. In the spring of my first year, I skipped school each Wednesday to intern at the Vermont State House; during my sophomore year I travelled to Bogotá, Colombia for an exchange I set up through family friends; my junior fall I spent as one of 30 United States Senate Pages living and working in Washington, DC, and then I spent my junior spring as one of 45 students living and working on the farm that is The Mountain School of Milton Academy; and finally senior year, I interned in the Vermont Governor’s Office on Wednesdays. After graduating high school, I moved to Gloucester, a small city on the North Shore of Massachusetts, where I spent the summer living with one of my aunts and surrounded by family — a happy place for me.

A M E R I C A N   U N I V E R S I T Y
I applied to AU on a whim because I had loved being in Washington, DC when I was a Senate Page. What I didn’t know at the time was that AU was the best decision I could have made. College students in DC have the opportunity to intern or work throughout the city while still attending classes, something I saw as a real privilege in order to gain experience and test out the waters. I’ve loved meeting people through various opportunities within the city, through exploring DC through restaurants, landmarks, and shops, and through AU’s School of Public Affairs Leadership Program.

H O B B I E S   A N D   A C T I V I T I E S
Growing up in Vermont, being active was a natural part of each day — especially since I grew up on 100+ acres of land. I love to be outside, running, swimming, cycling, paddle boarding, skiing, sledding, walking — whatever I can do to move around. Exercise is an integral part of who I am and of each day of my life. Other things I love include reading, baking and cooking, flowers, the beach, palm trees, color coding, fast cars, friends, handwritten notes, and travel.